Search This Blog

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

World Heritage Sites; Part Six

   Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park (Australia)
By – Pradeep Kumar Mallik, Patna
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park is included on the World Heritage List for both its natural and cultural values. Formerly called Ayers Rock – Mount Olga National Park, features spectacular geological formations that dominate the vast red sandy plain of central Australia. It lies in the traditional lands of the Western Desert Aboriginal people, locally known as Anangu. Anangu are part of one of the oldest human societies in the world. 
Read complete article in Issue no.59 of “ITS Stamp News”

No comments: